Getting virtualbox working on 12th Gen Framework in Ubuntu 2204

OK, I confess, I was honestly expecting VirtualBox and VMware Player to just install and work. Hah!

I am running on a new 12th Gen Framework with the i7 1280p and 32 GB RAM. In general, Ubuntu 22.04 installs and works fine. I do have some flickering mouse issues, but I will sort that.

I have a lot of experience with VMware Fusion and Parallels on Apple Mac. Everything I read about virtualbox was positive.

I installed virtualbox 7.0 - newest version. It said it installed fine. Then I installed the extensions since it seems that virtualbox is almost useless without them.

Several kernel modules said they required to be signed. I tracked down how to sign them and was mostly successful, then I read that they must be resigned whenever the kernel is modified. Well, I see the kernel getting updated pretty often, so I simply turned off Secure Boot in the BIOS and the kernel modules problem went away.

I will not list every tweak it took, but there were many to just get Windows 10 running. I had to track down how to make the microphone work, same for the mouse/trackpad. These did not work “out of the box”. Overall, it took me about two days to track down all the glitches, find some posting that really fixed them and make it all work.

All of this surprises me a bit. Mid project I tried to just switch to VMware Player - exact same issues. Kernel mods, needed a lot of config to start, failed to install Windows 10. So I went back to virtualbox and made that work.

At this point, I have a 100% working system with one kludge, if I want the camera to work, there seems to be no static setting to do so (if you know of one, please educate me - I am teachable).

So, when I start virtualbox and Windows 10, if I want the camera to work, I have to attach it AFTER the Windows OS boots. I run this from a shell script from the Linux side to attach the camera (for every Windows 10 boot session)

# See the list of cameras