Just got my FW13 13th gen all setup - Some thoughts

Got it all setup, seemed like a breeze to be honest with the guides. Here’s just some random thoughts:

I’m dual booting Windows 11 and Ubuntu, both installations seemed to work ok with a bit of secure boot throwing a fit, also it really didn’t like ventoy.

The build was super easy, the laptop seems much smaller than I thought it would (not sure why, and it’s not a bad thing).

The screen is wicked, gets really bright.

The keyboard in the chassis isn’t quite perfect and thus the up arrow was fouling on the case, I could have a raised a support ticket but I decided to undo all 30000 screws and shift it myself, now all is good.

Never ran ubuntu before but really wanted to give it a go (I have some linux/terminal experience though). Seems less stable under ubuntu which is a shame, need to spend some time sorting a few issues I have.

Working great under Win11 and my HP thunderbolt dock.

Wifi speeds are great near the router, but seem to drop off a little bit quicker than my other laptop. (still 200mbps+ so not a major issue).

Fans definitely kick in to the max under a heavier loads. Just browing around it seems pretty quiet so it’s ok. But when a download or extraction kicks in, fan go brrrrrrrr.

Running it in power saving mode and seems plenty fast.

4 Likes

Which ubuntu version? Ubuntu 22.04 LTS is supposed to work out of the box Framework | Linux Compatibility on the Framework Laptop

Yeah the latest 22.04 from the website. It works out the box and I copied the terminal command from the guide.

Everything works and so far seems stable but i’ve had the odd crash, scaling seems off (firefox is really blurry). I maybe need to spend a bit more time with it.

It’s definitely usable, but at the moment, not sure i’ll switch full time.

whats your scaling set to?
if its fractional id set it to 100/200% and change the scaling in gnome tweaks