Making the prototype bottom screen

Since the summer of 2021, I have been using an Asus Zenbook Duo. As a programmer, I love the second-screen functionality that I get. Unfortunately, the battery is barely lasting me about 4 hours with the second display off, ultra power mode on, etc…

I want to make the switch to the Framework 16 inch but keep my second screen. What I have been thinking about doing is removing the display from my old laptop and repurposing it in the 16-inch. I have very little experience with board fab and electrical diagrams, but I would hate to waste my laptop’s 2nd screen.

Here is an image of the keyboard area:

If anyone has any advice please let me know!!! I would also have to look into a smaller trackpad that would sit next to the keyboard when moved to the bottom, but that is going to be a problem for later me lol.

1 Like

Its likely that the screen is too high resolution/bandwidth for the USB2 currently used by the input modules. To get it working you’d probably need to route whatever ribbon cable it uses to an expansion card or something, assuming it uses eDP and can be converted somewhat easily.

1 Like

Dsiplaylink *gag* actually can do quite high resolutions through usb 2 but you would have to deal with displaylink so that’s only an option of last resort

3 Likes

@Nich_Trimble @Adrian_Joachim Thanks for the feedback, ill have to keep that in mind when I am designing it. Thanks!

I’m interested in an even more unreasonable screen (touch and covering the whole Input Module bay), so I’ll look out for something that would work here while I’m screen hunting.

1 Like

@Be_Far I saw your post earlier and that’s what made me think of it lol

You may need to take a detour via an expansion card, doubt the input modules would have the io for it.