Massive problems with external devices (Fedora 39, kernel 6.6,6.7)

with Fedora 39 and Kernel 6.6 and 6.7 I have massive problems with external devices:

• my 2 external displays (USB C and HDMI) are hardly recognized, the HDMI only if I remove and reinsert the HDMI Expansion Card while the system is running.
    -USB-A devices are not recognized at all (external webcam or Cherry Steam mouse and keyboard with USB dongle)

For troubleshooting, I have completely reinstalled Fedora and also briefly installed LinuxMint (with kernel 6.5).

Unfortunately, the error still occurred. Apparently a Fedora update has broken something.
But is it probably also due to the framework firmware? Is there a way to reset or reinstall it?

Is there another solution for the problems with the external devices?
Seems to be a framework problem, as it didn’t work under Mint either.

Device: framework 13 with 11gen intel

Hi.
I am a Linux kernel developer. This is unlikely to be caused by a BIOS update.
At the linux terminal, type “lsusb” and post the output here.
It should list which USB devices it can see.
This is more likely to be a hardware problem, so using tools like lsusb will help narrow down where the problem is.
e.g.

1. do “lsusb” without any expansion cards. If something appears:
  2. add one expansion card in slot 1 say a mouse. See if “lsusb” sees it.
  3. Move that expansion card to slot 2,3,4,5,6 to see if the mouse is seen at every slot. That will check if the slots are working.
  4. Make sure the HDMI card is plugged into the correct slot, it only works is certain slots.

Also, asking this question in a Fedora Linux help forum would probably help.
The output from “dmesg” would also help, but you would need to send that output to a pastbin and put the link here, as the output will be too long for here.

1 Like