Numpad alt codes?

Hi everyone! As a developer, I use alt codes all the time to type characters quickly. Do alt codes (ALT+126 for “~” for example) work on the Framework 16 keyboard + numpad configuration?
Thanks in advance!

That’s an OS level thing, nothing to do with the hardware, so as long as you are using the same/similar OS you are used to… Yes, the alt codes you are used to will continue to function.

3 Likes

Thank you, such a relief.
This doubt was brought up on a reddit post, users were talking about alt codes not working across separate USB devices, and the keyboard and numpad are seen by Windows as 2 HID devices, hence the doubt.

Yeah, I think you might have some issues with it. A search shows that people have problems with disconnected numpads and alt codes pretty regularly.

Depending how ingrained the specific alt key is in your muscle memory, and if you’re comfortable customizing the firmware, you could probably find a good way to create a “hold down alt” key or key combo directly on the numpad.

2 Likes

I see you already saw this thread, but for others who may be interested, it appears the Alt codes do NOT work by default on Windows.

Premise: I’ll check out QMK layers.
I still would like to use the alt codes. Unfortunately I’ll have to wait until Batch 15 :cry:

Are you refering to use ALT + four numbers to get an extended character (like 0128 for a Euro symbol)?

Yes, it’s them.

2 Likes

I’ve done a little investigation into finding a way to set up a communication channel within the firmware between the keyboard and numpad. In my case, my primary goal would be to sync the backlights, but it should also be possible to cause the numpad to echo certain modifier keys (or more likely route all of its generated keycodes through the main keyboard to inherit its modifier state).