Student willing to buy a Framework: is everything out of stock?

Hello, I’m a Belgian student, and I’ve been looking forward to buying a Framework laptop since last year.
I heard of this project in 2020, and I’ve been instantly charmed by the philosophy of the brand.

I’ve been working intensively all this year, so I didn’t take the time to do in-depth research about the options available, but I remember seeing some refurbished laptops on the marketplace for a really decent price (€799). At the time, I couldn’t afford it and hadn’t had time to ponder my choice.
I had the idea to wait for the summer holidays in order to get better prices by benefiting from the release of new laptops. Moreover, I now have the time to compare the different options available.

But, as you can see on the marketplace, almost everything is out of stock or in pre-order. Why ? And more specifically, the great refurbished program doesn’t seem to be active anymore (maybe I’m wrong ?)…

So, what would you advise me to do to get the best bang for my bucks ?
Would you advise me to order some components on other websites (as in this topic) ? Which one, and which brand, then ? (I’m totally new to the computer hardware world)

I don’t mind getting cutting-edge specs; I’d like to have a decent Linux laptop for my engineering studies at uni, and to be able to play not too heavy games like Skyrim.
My current laptop (~7GB RAM, AMD Ryzen 5 2500U) has a completely dead battery and is lacking in performance.

Thank you for reading my post, and even more if you mind answering me. Oh, and sorry for any broken English.

2 Likes

First off all, welcome to the forum.