Will there ever be a 18" or 17" 4K LCD laptop to replace Lenovo P17gen2 (i11) and Dell XPS 9370 (i13)?

Howdy, I came here because I’ve been using thinkpads since 1995, and on top of being addicted to the trackpoint which honestly beats any trackpad by miles (OMG, trackpads, even if tweaked on linux, totally suck for 3 button Xwindow work, and hold button 2 or 3 during drag, or simple cursor moving that is done sooo easily with the index finger on thinkpads).
Problem is that most manufacturers, including lenovo, have stopped making 17" laptop (actually I think P70, P71, P72, P73, and P17, P17gen2 were 17.3", which I absolutely love)
Lenovo P17gen is 2 years old and literally no better/faster than P73 and battery life is slightly worse (while removing hardware features :-/ )
I found the Dell XPS 9730, which seems to literally be the only laptop that does 17" and 4K with a recent CPU (well 13th gen, for 14th gen, I haven’t found one yet)

I really don’t like that I now have 2 laptops when I did everything on one before, syncing data sucks but the battery life of the lenovo is poor, its refusal to use most sources of power, is ridiculous, and let’s not talk about the weight.
The XPS 9730 would be my dream computer if it had proper keyboard with all the keys and a trackpoint.

Eventually I will need to replace them, and I would really really like for framework to have a 17" or hell even an 18" 4K laptop (4K is important, those gamer 18" laptops without 4K are useless to me, and I couldn’t care less about 3D or some battery draining nvidia chip I will turn off right away to use intel integrated graphics for battery life).

I believe there is literally not a single intel 14th gen 17/18" 4K laptop on the market today. there may not be a lot of buyers like me, but there will be some, and with 0 competition, that should make buyer’s choices easy since there will only be this new framework laptop to choose from :slight_smile: